2022-10-06
 
Cette section est réservée aux membres du RQD
Version française

Sarah Bronsard

Dancer, Choreographer

Sarah Bronsard is a choreographer based in Montreal. She finds her most fertile ground in flamenco dance and the contemporary dance scene, after a multidisciplinary artistic career that includes music, glassblowing, digital arts and a career as a painter. Her projects – supported by the Canada Council for the Arts (CCA) and the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec (CALQ) – have been presented in Quebec (Tangente, Société des Arts Technologiques), in Europe (France, Wales, Italy, Netherlands) and in Asia (Japan). Her work has received the Cirque du Soleil “Best Original Creation” award (Fringe, 2012), the Pierre Lapointe award (UQAM, 2016 and 2017) and the David-Kilburn award (UQAM, 2020). Recently, she did a residency at TOKAS (Japan, 2020) and in 2021, she toured with the piece “Èbe” around the province of Québec and presented it at the opening of the Casablanca International Video Art Festival (Maroc). She is currently developing “L’écho des racines“, a co-creation with ten dancers and musicians based on the encounter between flamenco and Quebecois step dancing, as well as “Les Rigoles“, a co-creation with Alexandra Templier based on the phenomenon of laughter. She founded La Sporée / Sarah Bronsard in the fall of 2021.

In addition to her choreographic practice, she has been a performer for the choreographers Aurélie Pedron, Audrey Gaussiran and [ZØGMA]. She completed a master’s thesis in research-creation at the Department of Dance at UQAM (2020) around the issues of intercorporeity between dance and music.

Sarah Bronsard is interested in the fertile tension of the “in-between”, particularly that which unfolds between tradition and exploration, embracing what emerges from the encounter with the other. In her creations, she favours musical, robotic and choreographic collaborations to develop her creations from flamenco dance where rhythm, intensity, contrasts, and codifications come into play. Digital art continues to influence her practice, through the porous paths it dilates between disciplines, although her projects are now anchored in the way this porosity originates in the lived body. Her multi-disciplinary background, her experiences in craft and her attraction to traditional dances give her an “artisan” approach to movement, sensitive to the rules of art established by these different traditions, each of which offers specific perspectives on the experience of the body in movement and on what unfolds between them.

2022-10-06
 
Cette section est réservée aux membres du RQD
English version

Sarah Bronsard

Interprète, Chorégraphe

Sarah Bronsard est une chorégraphe basée à Montréal. Elle trouve son terrain le plus fertile dans la danse flamenco et sur la scène de la danse contemporaine, après un parcours artistique multidisciplinaire incluant musique, verre soufflé, arts numériques et une carrière de peintre. Ses projets – soutenus par le Conseil des Arts du Canada (CAC) et le Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec (CALQ) – ont été présentés au Québec (Tangente, Société des Arts Technologiques), en Europe (France, Pays de Galles, Italie, Pays-Bas) et en Asie (Japon). Son travail a reçu le prix « Meilleure création originale » du Cirque du Soleil (Fringe, 2012), le prix Pierre Lapointe (UQAM, 2016 et 2017) et le prix David-Kilburn (UQAM, 2020). Récemment, elle a fait une résidence au TOKAS (Japon, 2020) et en 2021, elle fait une tournée au Québec avec la pièce « Èbe » et la présente en ouverture du Festival International d’Art Vidéo de Casablanca. Elle développe actuellement « L’écho des racines », une co-création avec dix danseurs et musiciens élaborée à la rencontre du flamenco et de la gigue québécoise, ainsi que « Les Rigoles », une co-création avec Alexandra Templier autour du phénomène du rire. Elle fonde La Sporée / Sarah Bronsard à l’automne 2021.

En plus de sa pratique chorégraphique, elle a été interprète pour Aurélie Pedron, Audrey Gaussiran et [ZØGMA] et en 2020 elle a complété un mémoire de maîtrise en recherche-création au Département de danse de l’UQAM autour des enjeux de l’intercorporéité entre la danse et la musique.

Sarah Bronsard s’intéresse à la tension fertile de l’ « entre », notamment celle qui se déploie entre tradition et exploration, en embrassant ce qui émerge à la rencontre de l’autre. Dans ses créations, elle privilégie les collaborations musicales, robotiques et chorégraphiques pour développer ses créations à partir de la danse flamenca où rythmique, intensité, contrastes, et codifications entrent en jeu. L’art numérique continue à influencer sa pratique, par les chemins poreux qu’il dilate entre les disciplines, bien que ses projets s’ancrent maintenant dans la manière dont cette porosité prend origine dans le corps vécu. Son parcours multidisciplinaire, ses expériences en métiers d’art et son attrait pour les danses traditionnelles lui confèrent une approche « artisane » du mouvement, sensible aux règles d’art établies par ces différentes traditions qui offrent chacune des perspectives spécifiques sur l’expérience du corps en mouvement et sur ce qui se déploie entre elles.