2023-09-11
 
This section is reserved for RQD members
Version française

Tony Chong

Chorégraphe, Interprète, Répétiteur / directeur des répétitions

Born and raised in Vancouver, Tony Chong is a multi-faceted artist who has lived in Montreal since 1993. A versatile choreographer, dancer, performer and artistic director, he has a keen interest in diverse art forms such as dance, circus, theatre, new media technology, film, cooking and photography. Tony has been recognized for his creative research and work, receiving awards from the Canada Council for the Arts and the Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec.

Tony's experience as Assistant Artistic Director on Cirque du Soleil's 2018-2019 show Totem paved the way for him to launch his Collectif RNTF (Remember Not To Forget) with Carol Prieur, where he continues to pursue various creative projects, including their latest 50-minute solo Invisible无形.

After graduating with a BA in Dance from Simon Fraser University in Vancouver, British Columbia, Tony continued his studies in New York City at New York University's Tisch School for the Arts and in San Jose, California with The Limon West and The Limon Company. He began his career working with Kokoro Dance Theatre and other Vancouver choreographers, such as the late Grant Strate, before moving to Montreal. He has also danced in works by Tom Stroud and Tedd Robinson with The Winnipeg Contemporary Dancers in Winnipeg.

Tony's extensive career as a dancer includes collaborations with renowned dance companies such as La Compagnie Marie Chouinard, Carbon 14, La Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault, Dominique Porte's Système D, Louise Bedard Danse, José Navas' Compagnie Flak, Sinha Danse, Germany's Steptext Dance Theatre and Line Nault. He has also toured the mixed cooking solo Practices of Everyday Life/Cooking in collaboration with Michael Montanaro, Navid Navab and Jerome Delapierre/Tony Chong. In recent years, Tony has worked with Bluemouth in Collective (Toronto/Brooklyn) on the production of Elephant.

From 2005-2008, Tony was co-artistic director of Groupe Dance Lab in Ottawa, Ontario, and has been a member of the rehearsal director team at La Compagnie Marie Chouinard since 2012.

2023-09-11
 
Cette section est réservée aux membres du RQD
English version

Tony Chong

Chorégraphe, Interprète, Répétiteur / directeur des répétitions

Tony Chong est un artiste aux multiples facettes, né et élevé à Vancouver, qui vit à Montréal depuis 1993. Chorégraphe, danseur, interprète et directeur artistique polyvalent, il s'intéresse vivement à diverses formes d'art telles que la danse, le cirque, le théâtre, la technologie des nouveaux médias, le cinéma, la cuisine et la photographie. Tony a été reconnu pour ses recherches créatives et ses œuvres, recevant le Conseil des Arts du Canada et le Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec.

L'expérience de Tony en tant qu'assistant directeur artistique sur le spectacle Totem du Cirque du Soleil en 2018-2019 lui a ouvert la voie pour lancer son Collectif RNTF (Remember Not To Forget) avec Carol Prieur, où il continue de poursuivre divers projets créatifs, y compris leur dernier solo de 50 minutes Invisible无形.

Après avoir obtenu une licence en danse à l'université Simon Fraser de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, Tony a poursuivi ses études à New York, à la Tisch School for the Arts de l'université de New York, et à San José, en Californie, avec The Limon West et The Limon Company. Il a commencé sa carrière en travaillant avec le Kokoro Dance Theatre et d'autres chorégraphes de Vancouver, comme le regretté Grant Strate, avant de s'installer à Montréal. Il a également dansé dans les œuvres de Tom Stroud et Tedd Robinson avec The Winnipeg Contemporary Dancers à Winnipeg.

La vaste carrière de Tony en tant que danseur comprend des collaborations avec des compagnies de danse renommées telles que La Compagnie Marie Chouinard, Carbon 14, La Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault, Système D de Dominique Porte, Louise Bedard Danse, la Compagnie Flak de José Navas, Sinha Danse, le Steptext Dance Theatre d'Allemagne et Line Nault. Il a également présenté en tournée le solo de cuisine mixte intitulé Practices of Everyday Life/Cooking en collaboration avec Michael Montanaro, Navid Navab et Jerome Delapierre/Tony Chong. Depuis quelques années, Tony travaille avec le Bluemouth in Collective (Toronto/Brooklyn) sur la production d'Elephant.

En 2005-2008, Tony a été codirecteur artistique du Groupe Dance Lab à Ottawa, en Ontario, et fait partie de l'équipe des directeurs de répétition de La Compagnie Marie Chouinard depuis 2012.